Franciscan Health Indianapolis Post-Surgical Unit, Indianapolis, IN

The staff of the 3 West Post-Surgical Unit received their AMSN PRISM Award®.

Franciscan Health Indianapolis has been recognized for its excellence in care to patients served in the hospital’s post-surgical care unit with an AMSN PRISM Award®, the second such award to be presented to the facility.

The staff of the 3 West Post-Surgical Unit received their award, which is sponsored by the Academy of Medical-Surgical Nurses (AMSN) and the Medical-Surgical Nursing Certification Board (MSNCB), on February 22, 2019. MSNCB President Ann Falker, DNP, RN, CBN, CMSRN, GCNS-BC, presented the award plaque during a special ceremony.

The award, which stands for “Premier Recognition In the Specialty of Med-Surg,” is the first of its kind honoring med-surg nursing units in the United States and internationally.

“Certainly, we are honored to receive the AMSN PRISM Award, and it attests to the hard work and dedication of our team,” said Lisa Peters, MSN, RN, NE-BC, post-surgical manager. “More important, it underscores their common commitment to care for the patients we are privileged to serve.”

Unit 3 West was recognized for:

  • Positive patient outcomes
  • Effective leadership
  • Recruitment and retention of competent staff
  • Evidence-based practices
  • A healthy practice environment
  • Lifelong learning of unit staff members

In 2018, Franciscan Health Indianapolis’ orthopedics/neurosciences unit was the first unit in Indiana to earn the prestigious three-year certification. Besides the two Franciscan Health Indianapolis units, only one other Indiana hospital has earned the AMSN PRISM award.

About the AMSN PRISM Award

AMSN and MSNCB launched the award in October 2012 and chose the acronym ‘PRISM’ (Premier Recognition In the Specialty of Medical-Surgical Nursing) to represent the many facets of the specialty.

There are more than 650,000 medical-surgical nurses practicing in the United States today, making them the largest group of specialty nurses working in hospitals. These nurses oversee a broad spectrum of patient care responsibilities.

View complete information about the AMSN PRISM Award, contact AMSN at or 866-877-AMSN.

About AMSN
The Academy of Medical-Surgical Nurses (AMSN) is the only specialty nursing organization dedicated to medical-surgical nursing practice. Its mission is to promote excellence in medical-surgical nursing. The Medical-Surgical Nursing Certification Board (MSNCB) is a professional organization whose mission is to validate excellence in medical-surgical nursing.