Units 2 East, 2 West, and K2 of St. Francis Hospital, The Heart Center®, Roslyn, NY

Pictured left to right: 2E, 2W, K2. See the complete, larger view of the three units in the photo gallery below.

The Academy of Medical-Surgical Nurses (AMSN) and the Medical-Surgical Nursing Certification Board (MSNCB) have given three more units at St. Francis Hospital, The Heart Center®, Roslyn, NY, the AMSN PRISM Award® for exemplary nursing practice. Units 2 East, 2 West, and K2 received their awards during a May 15, 2018, ceremony at the hospital.

The AMSN PRISM Award, which stands for Premier Recognition in the Specialty of Med-Surg, is the first award of its kind honoring medical-surgical units in the U.S.

This brings the total number of AMSN PRISM Awards given to med-surg units at St. Francis to six, more than any other single hospital in the U.S.

“Receiving a sixth PRISM award is yet another affirmation of the ongoing commitment our medical-surgical units have in providing topnotch nursing care,” says Ann Cella, MA, MEd, RN, NEA-BC, Senior Vice President of Patient Care and Chief Nursing Officer at St. Francis. “PRISM, along with our other national recognitions such as Magnet and Beacon, reflect why St. Francis is consistently ranked one of the best hospitals in the U.S.”

In order to achieve AMSN PRISM status, medical-surgical units must demonstrate sustained excellence by exhibiting:

  • Effective leadership
  • Recruitment and retention of competent staff members
  • Evidence-based practice
  • Positive patient outcomes
  • Healthy work environment
  • Lifelong learning of unit staff members

As of May 2018, only 30 Medical Surgical Units in the United States currently have AMSN PRISM awards. St. Francis is the only hospital in New York State to have achieved PRISM status. 

View complete information about the AMSN PRISM Award.

Photo Gallery from the Award Ceremony

2 West

2 East

Kellengerg 2 (K2)