MEDSURG Nursing Journal Announces 2014 Writer’s Awards Winners

PRESS RELEASE, PITMAN, NJ – MEDSURG Nursing, The Official Journal of the Academy of Medical-Surgical Nurses, recently announced its Annual Writer’s Awards at the 2014 Academy of Medical-Surgical Nurses (AMSN) Annual Convention in Orlando, FL.

All manuscripts published in the journal from May 2013 to April 2014 were evaluated in four different categories, and the winners were selected by a committee of industry experts.

The awards and winners are as follows:

Clinical Scholarship/Best Practice Writer’s Award

Presented to Jolene R. Bostwick, PharmD, BCPS, BCPP; and Ilze Sturis Hallman, DNP, GNP-BC, PHMCNS-BC, PMHNP-BC, for “Agitation Management Strategies: Overview of Non-Pharmacologic and Pharmacologic Interventions,” September/October 2013 issue.

Bostwick is Clinical Associate Professor, University of Michigan, College of Pharmacy, Ann Arbor, MI, and Clinical Pharmacist in Adult Psychiatry, University of Michigan Health System. Hallman is Cinical Nurse Specialist, Psychiatry, University of Michigan Health System, Ann Arbor, MI, and Adjunct Clinical Instructor, University of Michigan School of Nursing.

Research for Practice Writer’s Award

Presented to Kristen L. Swartzell, MSN, RN, ACNS-BC, ONC; Janet S. Fulton, PhD, RN, ACNS-BC, FAAN; and Barbara Manz Friesth, PhD, RN, for “Relationship Between Occurrence of Falls and Fall-Risk Scores in an Acute Care Setting Using the Hendrich II Fall Risk Model,” May/June 2013 issue.

Swartzell is Clinical Nurse Specialist and Ortho Trauma Program Coordinator, Orthoindy, Indianapolis, IN. Dr. Fulton is Professor, Indiana University School of Nursing, Indianapolis, IN. Dr. Friesth is Clinical Associate Professor and Assistant Dean for Learning Resources, Indiana University School of Nursing, Indianapolis, IN.

Professional Issues Writer’s Award

Presented to Lynn Dykema Sprayberry, PhD, RN, CEN; for “Transformation of America’s Health Care System: Implications for Professional Direct-Care Nurses,” January/February 2014 issue.

Dr. Sprayberry is a freelance writer and part-time RN, Health and Wellness Center, Berry College, Rome, GA.

Continuous Quality Improvement Writer’s Award

Presented to Kathy Lopez-Bushnell, EdD, MPH, MSN, APRN; William S. Demaray, RT; and Cathy Jaco, MSN, RN, for “Reducing Sepsis Mortality,” January/February 2014 issue.

Dr. Lopez-Bushnell, is Director of Nursing Research, University of New Mexico Hospitals, Albuquerque, NM. Demaray is Respiratory Therapist, University of New Mexico Hospitals, Albuquerque, NM. Jaco is Director of Quality Resources, Great River Health System, Burlington, IA.

All award winners receive a plaque and a complimentary registration to the convention.  The winners are also announced in MEDSURG Nursing.

For more information about the MEDSURG Nursing Writer’s Awards, contact Linda Alexander, phone: 856-256-2300; e-mal:; Website: All manuscripts published in the journal are eligible for consideration.

Academy of Medical-Surgical Nurses (AMSN)
The Academy of Medical-Surgical Nurses (AMSN) is the only specialty nursing organization dedicated to medical-surgical nursing practice. Its mission is to promote excellence in medical-surgical nursing. For more information, about AMSN, visit the AMSN Website; phone: 866-877-2676; fax: 856-218-0557; or e-mail:

Janet D'Alesandro